We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Screams, Grooves, and Brand New Blues

by The Sonny Kenn Band

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more


Blues With a Feeling (free) 03:09
Take Me Home 03:40
Slow Boogie 03:31
Cadillac Walk (free) 04:52
Rocket 88 (free) 01:55
Good Golly Miss Molly (free) 01:59
Calling All Comets (free) 02:47


In 2005, Sonny Kenn delivered his second studio effort, "Screams, Grooves, and Brand New Blues" which would display a variety of rock, blues and jazz tunes- as the title would suggest. Almost as if the album was undecided in which direction it was headed, it careens across multiple ideas, ultimately resulting in a compilation of very personal songs that were rarely, if ever, played out live, and studio versions of the raucous rock-n roll they were playing in bars at the time.

The slower acoustic songs in this collection definitely standout with great songwriting and wonderful "grooves." Not many people had heard Sonny's melancholic side before this album, and songs like "Makes Me Blue" and "Take Me Home" quietly outshine the loud rock and roll covers. However, there is one thunderous rocker that stands bold and holds all ground... and that would be "Baby Don't Love Me (No More!), which is a striking lesson in "less is more" and consequently turned out to be a late night bar anthem wherever they played. Other songs that shine are "Black Corvette," "Once More Set to Go," and "It's Getting to the Point", all hitting that sweet spot where melodic jazz meets swingin' rock. Not too loud, not too soft. Just right.

The core of the band in this era starred long time drummer Vic Bayers and Upright Bassist Dan Mulvey whom laid down a solid foundation on the record for Sonny and some guest musicians to build their fancy on. Recorded and produced by Sonny in his own little studio, "Screams, Grooves, and Brand New Blues" is a great moment in time captured in a variety of cool songs by the man himself.

Originally self released in 2005 and now re-released in 2017 on Unfinite Records with the beautiful bonus track "Walkin' Alone"


released September 16, 2005

Unfinite Records, USA

The Sonny Kenn Band:
Sonny Kenn: All Guitars, Vocals and Bass on Track 6
Vic Bayers: Drums
Dan Mulvey: Upright and Electric Bass

Guest Musicians:
Charlie Warwick: Organ & Piano on Tracks 1, 9, 10, 13, 15
Dave Homan: Tenor Sax on Tracks 1, 9, 13
Lori Lust: Duet Vocals on Track 11
Leigh Fox: Electric Bass on Track 10

All songs written by Sonny Kenn except:
"Blues With a Feeling" by Walter Jacobs
"Cadillac Walk" by Moon Martin
"Rocket 88" by Jackie Brenston
"Good Golly Miss Molly" by J. Marscalo and R. Blackwell
"Calling All Comets" by Bill Haley, M. Gabler, and R. Pompilli

Produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Sonny Kenn at Sonny's Studio in the Gene Ferry Bldg. Red Bank, NJ

Arranged by Sonny, Vic and Dan

Cover Photo: Dave Weidl
Logo Design: Roger Baker

Originally Self Released, 2005
Re-released by Unfinite Records, 2017


all rights reserved



Sonny Kenn New Jersey

Sonny Kenn is a Jersey Shore rock, blues, jazz and country musician with a career spanning over 40 years. He is known for being a preeminent guitarist and a fine artist. He is also credited as being the "original spark" that created the Asbury Park music scene from which Bruce Springsteen rose to fame. ... more

contact / help

Contact Sonny Kenn

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Screams, Grooves, and Brand New Blues, you may also like: